ADVERTISEMENT

Post Thanks / Like

Default help, with homemade longboards

hey, i am just getting into longboarding, and i love it! As of right now i have a gaint chunk of hardwood shaped like a longboard with randal RIIs on it. i m working on a real board, but was wondering if you guys could help me with some stuff. what characteristics are good for different riding styles? are there anything i should deffinatly do or not do? I know how to build um, i just want to build one thats right for me. Thanks alot.

2. ADVERTISEMENT

Post Thanks / Like

Default Tips

I'm in the process of building my own board too. (Actually I'm almost done, I basically just have to wait for the varnish to dry.) I think the first thing you've got to do is find out what you like. Generally, bigger boards (54"+) are for cruising and nosewalks, etc..., while smaller boards are more versatile for other stuff like slalom, slides, carving and downhill, etc. The board itself is pretty important too. Really flexy boards are great for speed and downhill, because you're closer to the ground. Stiffer boards are more stable for carving and tight turns, etc... Shapes can also have alot to do with it. Pintails are (usually) great for downhill and carving because of stability, whereas a wider and more "rounded" shape (eg. Soul Carver shallowtail, etc.) is more for cruising and sidewalk surfing.

So I guess it all depends on what you're looking for. I'd suggest riding as many different kinds of boards as you can before going all out; the only way to find out what you kinda style you like is to try it out.