ADVERTISEMENT

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Lightbulb Building A "Longboard Land Paddle"

Well I saw this new thing online not too long ago and had the pleasure of trying one while at the beach this summer, and man was it fun! I had to have one for myself but currently being a college student I don't exactly have the funds to be throwing at a ~$150 bamboo pole with rubber on it. So using the trusty internet and brushing up my knowledge of Epoxy, Bamboo types, and General Construction. I was able to make my own that is quite compaireable to the one I rode with at the beach.

First your going to need bamboo, DO NOT BUY THE PRE-DRIED KIND. They probably air dried it and this will cause it to be weak, split, and splinter easily. Instead what I did was to cut the bamboo myself, I let it sit out for a single day in the sun for the excess moisture from it to evaporate. Then I used a blow torch and slowly made my way around the bamboo till it turned a very nice tanish brown. You'll know when to stop because the waxy sugar from inside will start forming little white beads of sweat on the outside. Don't remove this because this is crucial to your sticks strength. Take bees wax and run it up and down the pole to mix it with the natural waxy sugar from the bamboo.

Next you will want to let the waxy mix dry which won't take very long. Afterwards you can customize your stick if you would like by painting or carving into it (Don't carve very deep or your bamboo will be weakened. Then tapeing off about 3" on each side of the stick I sprayed 2~3 layers of laquer on it to give it a nice glossy shine. I then used a buffer and shined it up alittle more. Then un-taped the two ends and sanded them and made them really rough so the epoxy could get a nice grip on it.