ADVERTISEMENT

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Speed wobbles... What did I do wrong?

So... I'm a newbie at this, just in it for a thrill and to have fun. I always wear my helmet but I've got no other protection gear

Anyway, I've had my board for a couple months, it's a Dregs downhill division, looks a little like an evo. Randal 180's with stock bushings and Abec 11 Freerides. Mostly just been riding down small hills, if you'd even call them hills But on Sunday I wanted to test my limits and get some speed up. I went to the biggest hill I can find, it's roughly 300m long and pretty steep (for me). My mate who's right into downhill got up to 70kph on this hill on a previous day, he has a GPS. I had a few cruisy runs down it first where I carved and Airbraked most the way down. It's a pretty straight forward run, there's only one corner and it's not very sharp at all.

I wanted to go for a run and get some speed up, so I decided to tuck the whole way down. I kicked off and kept kicking till I got too fast to put my foot down then went into an american tuck. I went in a pretty straight line, kept low and tried keeping my legs loose, but when I got down to the bottom of the run (steepest part, just before it levels out) I started getting wobbles. I could feel the wobbles for about 30-50 metres before I came off at top speed, & guess who got wrecked. I'm now wrapped in bandages with severe roadrash on my arms and knees, I also have a class two strained hamstring.

My board has always felt stable, but just that one time I got wrecked I couldn't control it. I'm sure if someone else was riding my setup they would have made it just fine, but I want to know what I did wrong so I can improve. Yes, I've read the speed wobbles guide on here but it didn't help me too much... Will just getting more ride time & experience make me stop wobbles or is there a clear cut way of not getting them?