ADVERTISEMENT

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Riding rough pavement?

Hello all! I am new to longboarding and have a few questions.

Title question is how well do longboards handle cruddy pavement.
    This can be things like bad sidewalks where one slab is 1" higher then the next, or decent sized rocks that you do not see until you hit.

To give a little background:
    I am snowboarder going through withdrawl. I have looked at T-Board, Freebord, and have tried Ripstick. The T&F seem great for snowboard likeness, but I want something that I can ride around the neighborhood. And the T/Freebord seem made for the hills.

Once I got a handle on the Ripstick, it did the job of getting a workout. Once you hit a decent crack though, the board stops and my body ejects. More of an adrenaline rush then I want.

Any suggestions and advice is appreciated, perhaps Longboarding is not the right fit for what I want.

Thanks!

2. ADVERTISEMENT

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Riding rough pavement

The roads around here are pretty cruddy (chip coat). If you run big soft wheels 75mm+ you should be pretty comfortable on the rough pavement. IDK about 1in differences in sidewalk segments.
    Loaded Dervish/Tan Tien, Paris 180mm, Purp O-tangs, Reds

Moderator Shinobo Sukebo BigTreeFallHard's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Riding rough pavement?