ADVERTISEMENT

Thread: DH Fishtail?

Post Thanks / Like

Default DH Fishtail?

Okay, so I've been longboarding for a few months now & bombing hills on a greg noll 46" pintail but I'm over it because it's just too big and awkward so I just bought an S9 fiji 38" bamboo fishtail deck yesterday. I consider myself a noob at this and before y'all get at me and bite my head off I'm interested in turning this deck into a downhill deck. I'm looking at Caliber 50 degree trucks for it and I want to know if I should get 9" trucks to match the deck width or 10" to have stability? I don't know if there will be wheelbite or kickbite...

Tell me if you think this is a big no no or no biggie. I really like these pintail boards so I'm trying to experiment.
    I do also ride a Landyachtz switch 40" 2013 so I'm familiar with actual DH boards.

2. ADVERTISEMENT

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: DH Fishtail?

Why not just keep the switch as your primary downhill board and keep the other one as a cruiser/commuter. GENERALLY, not all the time (for example rayne) , but generally bamboo does not make a good downhill deck because of the flexiness. The switch though is a pretty good downhill/freeride board. That's just my opinion though. If you really wanted to improve the feel of it though i would maybe put some Paris 180 trucks on there. I would not expect to any major downhill but it will still be more stable and carve nicely with the right bushing set up.
    Last edited by LYconnor; 06-23-2013 at 10:59 AM.

Post Thanks / Like