ADVERTISEMENT

Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default THE Snowboard Building Thread

I searched all through SF, and have joined a few other snowboard forums throughout the interwebs. All of them have disappointing participation rates, and in general the website (search function, organization etc) isn't as good as it is here.

So, here is a thread where we can all post links to info, share our experiences, and post pics of builds. I'll start out with a mini-chronicle of the board I'm working on right now, and post up more pics as I go, I am completely new to this.

ANYONE that has experience, I'd love to hear what you have to say, and see pics of your process and/or results.

Materials, Info, forums:
    snowboardmaterials.com
    blankslateskis.com
    skibuilders.com
    Boardcrafter Snowboard Building - Home

This is my first board, but I'll share what I've learned and accomplished so far. I started with a pre-profiled 164cm core and sidewalls from snowboard materials. I cut the core to a rough shape and attached sidewalls with epoxy. The P-tex sidewalls need to be sanded and heat treated before they are bonded to the wood core.

I wanted a multi-color core without getting epoxy inks for screen printing or paying a lot to get a sublimated base, so I cut three different colors and attached them temporarily with clear packing tape. The fiberglass should hold it all together.

Next up, I bent and attached the metal edges (from blank slate skis). To bend them I made a ghetto rig out of two bolts with various sized washers, clamped in a vice. This allowed me to bend them without messing up the teeth and get some nice smooth bends.

After they were bent to shape, tacked them onto the base with super glue and clamps. You can never have too many clamps!