ADVERTISEMENT

Page 1 of 11 12345 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default I will answer any questions about using composite fabrics in board building!

Hello board builders! I have more than 4 years of experience in using composites for building longboards. I will try my best to answer any questions you may have.

2. ADVERTISEMENT

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: I will answer any questions about using composite fabrics in board building!

ok I'll bite, I am making a board currently, wheel wells routed into it a uniform 2mm deep from the timber core bottom surface. Given that the deck will have a concave curve, how do I cut the carbon so it gives a carbon bottom, then wheel wells cut through the carbon and 2mm into the core, showing the timber core?

The carbon underneath will be around 0.8mm thick, so thicker than I want to trim down with a knife. The concave curve on the board will mean routing the wells is out, so I was thinking of making some "pre-preg" carbon, trimming that when wet, laying it up in the mould, then later shaving the stuff that's squeezed into the wells on clamping. Probably laser cut a little insert out of plastic to slip in the wells when moulding to make up for the thickness.

What would you suggest/how do you do it?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: I will answer any questions about using composite fabrics in board building!

Okay, i'm not sure I understand correctly... you want a carbon fiber bottom and want the wheels wells to show your wood? You are cutting your wheel wells before moulding?