ADVERTISEMENT

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default The Formica Challenge

I know this isn't longboarding, but I was hoping for a little help and insight from the Silverfish community.

Name:  pivotboard-store.jpg
Views: 160
Size:  54.0 KB

I've been pressing my Pivotboardsfor a few years, and have found a few problems that I think i understand, but I'm unsure about.

As you can see from the picture here, our boards have formica facing on them. The formica is ont he top and the bottom, as it helps greatly with the board strength. The problem is, that using formic on both sides creates a membrane, that greatly slows down the drying process for Titebond III.

We use maple plys in the construction of the boards.

We take boards out of our press after 2 days of pressing, and still need to keep them under 1/2" steel plates to cure properly for 10 days. If we don't put them in the steel plates, they warp.

We're also finding inconsistency in strength at times. I believe that the glue could be drying from the outside of the pressings, and then sealing off the glue on the interior of the wood, meaning it never truly cures.

A friend of mine from Argentina has had success using epoxy, and fiberglass layers.

Looking into epoxy, the epoxy seems to be really expensive in comparison to the titebond III.

I'm hoping someone may have some experience of using glues with a catalyst, such as Ultra-Cat PPR Veneer glue, or two part glues using a catalyst.

Any advice would be great. Trying to figure out what glue will either cure without air, or a better solution to my issue.

2. ADVERTISEMENT

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: The Formica Challenge

I use Formica on my boards, and Titebond 3.
    I basically do the same thing you are doing, press for two days ( or three, whatevs )

Don't have steel plates, I just put them in the middle of a stack of other dried boards for about a month.